Skip to content
Radio & Range

Walkie-Talkies / Head to head

Midland vs Motorola Walkie-Talkies: Which Brand Gets You Farther?

Every Motorola Talkabout is a license-free FRS radio. Midland sells FRS radios too, plus GMRS handhelds and truck radios that can go farther. Here's which side of that line your group belongs on.

By Mike M.Updated How we rank

#adAs an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never set a score or pick a winner. How we rank · Disclosure

Not legal advice. This page summarizes FCC rules (47 CFR Part 95) from the official sources linked in the text. Rules and fees checked . The FCC sets its fees annually and can change its rules, so confirm the current version on fcc.gov before you rely on it.

The contenders

Side by side

A mother and two children walking in an autumn forest
Illustrative stock photo. It doesn't show a specific product on this page.

Here's the question behind most Midland-vs-Motorola searches: which one will reach my people when the phones don't? The honest answer is that the brand matters less than the radio service printed on the box. Two license-free radios from these two brands play by the same FCC rules and reach about as far as each other. The real difference is that Midland also sells radios on the other side of the license line, and Motorola's consumer line doesn't. Everything below comes from the makers' published specs and pages and from the FCC; the scores come from the rubric on our How We Rank page.

The one difference that matters: FRS only vs FRS and GMRS

Motorola says it plainly in its own FAQ: "No, you do not need a license to use Motorola Solutions TALKABOUT walkie talkies! All TALKABOUT models operate on Family Radio Service (FRS) frequencies, which are completely license-free under FCC rules" (Motorola TALKABOUT lineup page). The current lineup on that page is the T800, T600, T478, T470, T380, T270, T210 and T110. Every one is FRS. That's a clean promise: buy any Talkabout, hand it to anyone of any age, and you're legal. The FCC says FRS is "licensed by rule" and that you may operate an FRS radio "regardless of your age" ( FCC FRS page).

Midland sells both sides of the line:

  • License-free FRS: the X-Talker T10, T31, T51, T61, T71, T75 and T77.
  • GMRS handhelds (license required): the GXT1000, GXT1030 and GXT1050 pairs, the GXT3000, the 5 W GXT67 PRO, and the X-Talker T290 and T295.
  • GMRS MicroMobile radios for vehicles (license required): the 5 W MXT105, the 15 W MXT115P PRO and MXT275, and the 50 W MXT500 and MXT575.

One trap to watch: Midland uses the X-Talker name on both sides. The T71 is sold as a "license-free solution" (Midland T71VP3 page), while the T290 is titled "X-Talker GMRS" and needs a license (Midland T290VP4 page). Read the product title for "FRS" or "GMRS" before you buy.

If you searched "two-way radios Motorola" and expected something bigger: Motorola Solutions also sells business and commercial radio systems, MOTOTRBO digital radios and APX radios "purpose-built for first responders" (Motorola Solutions two-way radios). Those are work systems, not something a family or a hunting camp picks up for the weekend. For that buyer, Motorola means Talkabout, and Talkabout means FRS.

What each brand will really reach

FRS rules cap every license-free radio from both brands the same way. The FCC allows 2 W ERP on FRS channels 1-7 and 15-22 and 0.5 W on channels 8-14, and FRS radios must have antennas "integrated with the unit" rather than removable ones (FCC FRS page; FCC consumer guide). The FCC's own range expectation for FRS is "generally less than one-half mile on the 0.5 watt channels and up to two miles on the 2 watt channels, depending on conditions."

Now look at the boxes. Motorola advertises the T800 at "up to 35 miles," and its own footnote breaks that into "mountain to valley - up to 35 miles, open water - up to 6 miles, neighborhood - up to 2 miles" (Motorola T800 page). Midland advertises the FRS T71 at "up to 38 miles", yet Midland's own help center tells FRS owners to "expect about 1/2 mile to 2 miles of FRS radio range" ( Midland Support: FRS and GMRS 101). Plan on the small number. Between a Talkabout and an X-Talker FRS radio, neither brand has a range secret. Terrain and height beat the logo: a radio on a ridge reaches farther than the same radio in a creek bottom. Our range claims explainer breaks down where the big box numbers come from.

GMRS is where Midland can pull ahead, but only with the right radio. The FCC says a GMRS user "can expect a communications range of one to twenty-five miles depending on station class, terrain, and repeater use" (FCC GMRS page). Station class and repeaters are the parts that matter. A GMRS repeater on a tower or hilltop can relay a handheld far beyond direct range, and a mobile radio on a roof antenna has much more to work with than any handheld.

Be clear-eyed about Midland's best-seller, though. The GXT1000VP4 has no repeater channels, Midland doesn't state its wattage, and Midland's own page says "The GXT averages 1/2-2 miles in normal conditions" (Midland GXT1000VP4 page). Buy a GXT1000 instead of a Talkabout and you've taken on a license without a published promise of more distance. The Midland radios that change the reach picture are the repeater-capable ones (the GXT3000VP4 and GXT67 PRO) and the MicroMobiles. If you're weighing the two popular Midland GMRS pairs, our Midland T290 vs GXT1000 comparison goes deeper.

The two lineups, side by side

Motorola TalkaboutMidland
Radio services soldFRS onlyFRS and GMRS
LicenseNone for any modelNone for the FRS X-Talkers (T10-T77); a GMRS license for the GXT, T290/T295 and MicroMobile radios
Handheld linesT110, T210, T270, T380, T470, T478, T600, T800X-Talker FRS, X-Talker GMRS, GXT1000/1030/1050, GXT3000, GXT67 PRO
Vehicle radiosNone in the Talkabout lineupMicroMobile MXT105 (5 W), MXT115P PRO and MXT275 (15 W), MXT500 and MXT575 (50 W)
Repeater capableNo (FRS radios can't use repeaters)Yes on the GXT3000, GXT67 PRO and the MicroMobiles; no on the GXT1000 and X-Talkers
Maker's own realistic figure"Neighborhood - up to 2 miles" (T800 footnote)"The GXT averages 1/2-2 miles in normal conditions"; about 1/2 to 2 miles for FRS

And the four radios we'd shortlist, two from each brand: Motorola's feature leader and its waterproof model, Midland's top license-free X-Talker, and the Midland GMRS pair that can use a repeater.

Published specMotorola Talkabout T802 (2-pack)Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)Midland GXT3000VP4 (2-pack)
LicenseNo licenseNo licenseNo licenseGMRS license
ServiceFRS, license-free (Motorola: TALKABOUT radios use FRS unlicensed frequencies)FRS, license-free (Motorola: TALKABOUT radios use FRS unlicensed frequencies)FRS; Midland calls it a "license-free solution"GMRS; FCC license required for GMRS operation (owner's manual)
PowerHi/Lo power settings (wattage not stated)High / medium / low (Midland does not state the wattage)
Channels22 channels and 121 privacy codes22 channels and 121 privacy codes36 channels as listed (the spec sheet counts 14 of them as extra channels) and 121 privacy codes50 GMRS channels (22 standard + 28 preset privacy-code channels); 142 privacy codes
Repeater8 repeater-capable GMRS channels
BatteryNiMH rechargeable batteries (included), USB-C charging800 mAh NiMH: up to 9 hours; 3 AA alkaline: up to 23 hours; USB-C charging (advertised)Two 1000 mAh rechargeable packs (included) or 3 AA batteries; desktop charger, AC wall adapter and Micro-USB cable in the box3.8 V 1800 mAh Li-ion pack or 3 AA alkaline batteries
Advertised range"Up to 35 miles" (footnote: mountain to valley up to 35 miles, open water up to 6 miles, neighborhood up to 2 miles) (advertised)"Up to 35 miles" (footnote: mountain to valley up to 35 miles, open water up to 6 miles, neighborhood up to 2 miles) (advertised)"Up to 38 miles" (advertised)
Budget tierMid-priceMid-priceMid-pricePremium
Score6.1/106.8/105.7/106.7/10
Figures as published by the maker; each value links to its source. Range figures are the maker's advertised claims. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources. Price tiers come from the maker's list price when we researched (Sep 2026).

Two blanks in that table are worth reading. Motorola doesn't publish transmit power for the Talkabouts, and Midland gives high, medium and low settings without wattage on the T71 and GXT3000. So the power row can't settle this fight; the service and the repeater row do.

Do Midland and Motorola radios work together?

Yes. The FCC says FRS "is authorized 22 channels in the 462 MHz and 467 MHz range, all of which are shared with General Mobile Radio Service (GMRS)" (FCC FRS page). Midland's help center puts it in plain terms: "FRS & GMRS share the same pre-programmed channels, so whether you have an FRS radio or GMRS, you will be able to communicate" ( Midland Support). That covers a Talkabout talking to an X-Talker, and it covers every Midland talking to every other Midland, FRS or GMRS. What trips people up is settings, not brands:

  1. Use a plain channel from 1 to 22. Channel numbers above 22 are shortcuts. The GXT line lists "28 Midland preset privacy-code channels" on top of the 22 standard ones, and the T71 lists 14 extra channels. A preset like that is a channel with a code already applied, and preset numbers aren't guaranteed to mean the same thing on another model or brand.
  2. Match the privacy code, or turn it off on every radio. Off is the easy way. If you use a code, set the same code on each radio and confirm in both manuals that it means the same tone. A privacy code only filters what you hear. It doesn't stop anyone else on the channel from hearing you.
  3. With a Midland MicroMobile in the group, favor channels 15-22. The rule limits channels 1-7 to 5 W ERP (47 CFR 95.1767), so Midland's mobiles run low power there, and the MXT115P PRO lists channels 8-14 as receive only (Midland MXT115P PRO page). Channels 15-22 give the mobile full power and the FRS radios their full 2 W.
  4. Talk direct, not through a repeater, when FRS radios are in the group. Only repeater-capable GMRS radios can use repeater channels. A Talkabout or a GXT1000 can only talk radio to radio.
  5. Check it at the truck. Key up every radio before the group splits up, not after.

Our walkie-talkie channels guide helps you pick a quiet one.

Where Motorola is ahead, and where Midland is

Motorola's edge is features on license-free radios. The T800 series links to the TALKABOUT phone app over Bluetooth for off-grid group messages and location sharing, with no cell service involved, but only between T800-series radios running the app. The T600 H2O is IP67 and floats face up, with a flashlight that switches on when it hits the water. Both charge by USB-C, and the T605 and T470 take AA batteries as a backup.

Midland's edge is range of choice. Its FRS X-Talkers go toe to toe with the Talkabouts: the T71 takes three AAs as a backup and has Weather Scan and eVOX. Its camo models (the FRS T75 and the GMRS GXT1050 and T295) add vibrate alerts and animal-call tones for the stand. Past that, Midland is the only one of the two with a GMRS handheld that can use a repeater and a radio you bolt into a truck.

Neither is perfect on paper. Motorola lists the T800 as IP54 in one place and IPX4 in another. Midland's GXT1000 and GXT3000 carry only a JIS4 splash rating, and Midland's GXT3000 battery-life figures disagree with each other (27 vs 18 hours). For IP67 in a Midland GXT handheld, you step up to the single-radio GXT67 PRO.

Who should buy which

  • Campground, neighborhood, theme park, a family spread across a cruise ship: either brand's FRS radios. Pick by features: the Motorola T802 for app messaging, the Midland T71 for AA backup at a lower tier. For ships, check with your cruise line first; our cruise ship guide explains why steel decks matter.
  • Kayaks, the lake, river trips: the Motorola T605. Nothing in Midland's FRS line matches IP67 and floating.
  • A deer lease or ranch with hills and timber between the stands: Midland GMRS. Take the GXT3000VP4 if a GMRS repeater covers your area, and add a MicroMobile at camp or in the truck. Our deer lease radio setup lays out the whole plan.
  • A convoy or trail run: a Midland MicroMobile in each rig, with handhelds for spotters.
  • You don't care about the brand, just the best radio: start with our best walkie-talkies ranking, and if the backcountry is the plan, read Rocky Talkie vs Midland and Rocky Talkie vs Motorola Talkabout.

If I were buying for a family that never gets more than a mile apart, I'd skip the license and buy Talkabouts or X-Talkers, whichever pack has the features I'd use. If my people were spread across a section of timber, I'd go Midland GMRS and put the money into a repeater-capable radio or a mobile, not a bigger number on the box.

The license question in one minute

Friends with FRS radios don't need your license to talk to you on the shared channels; the license is for the people transmitting on GMRS radios. Our GMRS license guide covers who it covers and whether it's worth it for your group.

Beyond handhelds: the truck and the house

This is the part of the comparison Motorola's consumer line sits out. Midland's MicroMobile radios mount in a truck, a UTV or a tractor cab and run 5 to 50 W into an external antenna, which is the single biggest reach upgrade most families can make. They still talk to every Talkabout and X-Talker on the shared channels. Our MXT115 vs MXT275 vs MXT575 comparison shows which one fits which vehicle, and the walkie-talkies hub maps every handheld guide on the site.

In detail

The contenders, in full

Illustrative stock photo: a woman talking into a yellow handheld radio in a pine forestStock photo

Motorola's feature leader

Motorola Talkabout T802 (2-pack)

No licenseMid-priceResearched6.1/10

The Talkabout with the most tricks: phone-app messages and location sharing between T800 radios with no cell service, NOAA alerts and a flashlight. It's still FRS, so it still has FRS reach.

How the 6.1 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
5
Power & battery (15%)
6
Field features (10%)
9
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • Off-grid texting and location sharing between T800 radios through the phone app, with no license and no cell service
  • NOAA alerts, emergency button, flashlight and hands-free VOX in one radio
  • USB-C charging

Where it falls short

  • Motorola doesn't publish the transmit power, and the antenna is fixed like every FRS radio
  • Motorola lists the weather rating as IP54 in one place and IPX4 in another; treat it as splash-resistant only
  • The messaging and location features only work with other T800-series radios running the app

Skip this if…

Skip it if you need to reach someone over a ridge or across miles of timber: app features don't add range, and a GMRS radio with more power will reach farther.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Motorola Talkabout T802 (2-pack)

Illustrative stock photo: a woman talking into a yellow handheld radio in a pine forestStock photo

Motorola for the water

Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)

No licenseMid-priceResearched6.8/10

The Talkabout for the boat, the river or a wet camp: IP67, it floats face up, and it runs on three AAs when the packs die. License-free, with the usual short FRS reach.

How the 6.8 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
9
Power & battery (15%)
7
Field features (10%)
8
Value (10%)
8

What the specs support

  • IP67 and it floats face up, with a flashlight that switches on when it hits the water
  • Runs on the NiMH pack or three AA batteries, so a dead pack isn't the end of the day
  • The T605 pack adds a case, spare batteries and earpieces

Where it falls short

  • Motorola doesn't publish the transmit power; reach is ordinary FRS
  • It may not float with some AA batteries, per Motorola
  • Headset use is for dry conditions only

Skip this if…

Skip it if you need to talk between boats or trucks miles apart: IP67 keeps it alive in the lake, but a fixed-antenna FRS radio won't cover that distance.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)

Illustrative stock photo: a woman talking into a yellow handheld radio in a pine forestStock photo

Midland's license-free rival

Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

No licenseMid-priceResearched5.7/10

Midland's top X-Talker FRS pair, head to head with the Talkabouts: AA backup, Weather Scan and eVOX. Same FRS rules as Motorola, so expect the same kind of reach.

How the 5.7 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
4
Power & battery (15%)
6
Field features (10%)
7
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • AA fallback plus 1000 mAh packs and a full charging kit
  • Weather Scan, silent mode and hands-free eVOX
  • Works with any other FRS or GMRS radio on the shared FRS channels

Where it falls short

  • Midland's own runtime figure is about 5 hours on high power
  • Only "water resistant"; no IP rating
  • Transmit power isn't published, and FRS rules still cap what it can do

Skip this if…

Skip it if you're buying it for the "38 miles": through hills and trees it's still a fixed-antenna FRS radio, and a GMRS radio is the real step up in reach.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

Illustrative stock photo: a man in gloves talking into a handheld radio on a dry hillsideStock photo

The step Motorola doesn't offer

Midland GXT3000VP4 (2-pack)

A GMRS pair with 8 repeater channels, Li-ion packs and a 3 AA backup. It needs a GMRS license, and it pays off most when a GMRS repeater covers your area.

How the 6.7 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
6
Ease of use (20%)
7
Toughness & weather (15%)
5
Power & battery (15%)
8
Field features (10%)
8
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • 8 repeater channels, so it can use a local GMRS repeater for real distance
  • Li-ion packs with a 3 AA fallback and a 4-hour USB-C recharge
  • Flashlight, Dual Watch and NOAA alerts cover a camp or a lease

Where it falls short

  • JIS4 splash rating only
  • Transmit power isn't stated, and the battery-life figures conflict (27 vs 18 hours)
  • Midland doesn't list a removable antenna

Skip this if…

Skip it if there's no GMRS repeater in your area: without one, the extra over a GXT1000 buys you mainly a better battery and a flashlight.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Midland GXT3000VP4 (2-pack)

How we scored this

Radios we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of radio sites say they range-tested everything they list. We haven't, and we say so. Every pick here is labeled Researched: we read each maker's published specs, manuals and range tables, check the license rules against the FCC, and score every radio on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and every range number is labeled “advertised.”

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

What changed

  • Published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Do all Midland walkie talkies work together?
Yes, on the 22 standard channels. Midland's help center says FRS and GMRS "share the same pre-programmed channels," so its FRS X-Talkers, GXT handhelds and MicroMobiles can all talk. Use a plain channel from 1 to 22, match the privacy code (or turn it off), and favor channels 15-22 when a MicroMobile is in the group. Preset channels above 22 may not match between models.
Do Midland and Motorola walkie-talkies work together?
Yes. FRS channels are shared with GMRS under FCC rules, so a Motorola Talkabout and any Midland radio can talk on the same channel from 1 to 22. Set the privacy code to off on both, or match it and confirm the tone in each manual. See our privacy codes guide.
Does Motorola make GMRS radios?
Not in its consumer line. Motorola's own FAQ says "All TALKABOUT models operate on Family Radio Service (FRS) frequencies." Motorola Solutions' business, MOTOTRBO and APX radios are a separate category built for companies and first responders. If you want a GMRS handheld or truck radio, Midland is the brand of the two that sells one.
Which has more range, Midland or Motorola?
Between license-free radios, neither: both are FRS radios with fixed antennas, and Midland's own help center says to expect about 1/2 to 2 miles from FRS. Midland can reach farther only with its GMRS radios, mainly the repeater-capable handhelds and the MicroMobile vehicle radios, and those need a GMRS license.
Do I need a license for Motorola Talkabout radios?
No. Every current Talkabout is an FRS radio, and the FCC says FRS is licensed by rule, with no individual license and no age limit. Our GMRS vs FRS guide explains what changes if you step up to GMRS.
Are Midland X-Talker radios license-free?
Most are. The X-Talker T10 through T77 are FRS and sold as license-free. The X-Talker T290 and T295 are GMRS radios and need an FCC GMRS license. Read the product title for "FRS" or "GMRS" before you buy. (Midland's older T71 and T75 spec sheets carry an "FCC license required" footer; the current product pages sell them as FRS.)

Receipts

Sources

  1. Motorola Solutions: TALKABOUT consumer radio lineup page and FAQ (checked 2026-09-22)
  2. Motorola Solutions: Two-way radios category page (checked 2026-09-22)
  3. Motorola Solutions: TALKABOUT T800 series product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  4. Midland Support: FRS and GMRS 101 (checked 2026-09-22)
  5. Midland: GXT1000VP4 product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  6. Midland: T71VP3 X-Talker product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  7. Midland: T290VP4 X-Talker GMRS product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  8. Midland: MXT115P PRO MicroMobile product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  9. Midland: GXT3000VP4 product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  10. FCC: Family Radio Service (FRS) page (checked 2026-09-22)
  11. FCC: General Mobile Radio Service (GMRS) page (checked 2026-09-22)
  12. FCC: Personal Radio Services consumer guide (checked 2026-09-22)
  13. FCC: Personal service and amateur application fees (checked 2026-09-22)
  14. 47 CFR 95.1767, GMRS transmitter power limits (via Cornell LII, checked 2026-09-22)

We haven't tested the radios on this page and we don't pretend to. Specs and range figures come from each maker's own pages and manuals (linked on every product), and license, power and channel rules come from the FCC and 47 CFR Part 95. Range numbers are the maker's advertised claims and are labeled that way. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

Keep going

  • Walkie-Talkies

    Best Walkie-Talkies

    Nine walkie-talkies ranked for reach, battery, ease and value, from license-free FRS pairs to 5 W GMRS radios with repeater channels and removable antennas.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (single radio) · 9 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (single radio)

  • Walkie-Talkies

    Rocky Talkie vs Midland

    The Rocky Talkie Mountain and Expedition radios against Midland's closest rivals: the makers' own terrain range, battery, weather rating and license facts, and who should buy which.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio (single radio)

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio (single radio)

  • Road Trips & Overlanding

    Midland MXT115 vs MXT275 vs MXT575

    Midland's three MicroMobiles head to head: the IP67 15 W MXT115P PRO for open cabs, the 15 W hideaway MXT275 for a clean dash, and the 50 W MXT575 when distance is the real problem.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Midland MXT115P PRO MicroMobile (15 W)

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Midland MXT115P PRO MicroMobile (15 W)

  • Walkie-Talkies

    Walkie-Talkie Privacy Codes

    Privacy codes (CTCSS and DCS) filter what your radio plays; they don't hide you. The 38-code tone chart, why brands number codes differently, how to match mixed radios, and who can listen in.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Cobra RX680 (2-pack)

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Cobra RX680 (2-pack)

More in Walkie-Talkies