Skip to content
Radio & Range

Walkie-Talkies / Head to head

Midland vs Cobra Walkie-Talkies: Which Brand Should You Buy?

Two old American radio names, two very different catalogs. Cobra states its wattage and builds the radio that floats. Midland publishes the honest range figure and has a real upgrade path. Here is how that plays out at the checkout.

By Mike M.Updated How we rank

#adAs an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never set a score or pick a winner. How we rank · Disclosure

Not legal advice. This page summarizes FCC rules (47 CFR Part 95) from the official sources linked in the text. Rules and fees checked . The FCC sets its fees annually and can change its rules, so confirm the current version on fcc.gov before you rely on it.

The contenders

Side by side

  • Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

    Midland's license-free pick

    Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

    No licenseMid-price5.7/10

    The top X-Talker: 1000 mAh packs plus a 3 AA fallback, Weather Scan, eVOX and a headphone jack. Midland's own runtime figure is about 5 hours on high power.

    $89.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

  • Cobra RX680 (2-pack)

    Cobra's license-free pick

    Cobra RX680 (2-pack)

    No licenseMid-price6.3/10

    The Cobra that answers the spec question: 0.5 or 2 W stated outright, IP54, Li-ion packs with a stated 18 hours, and 38 preset channel-and-code combinations for finding a quiet channel.

    $89.95Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Cobra RX680 (2-pack)

  • Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

    The Midland step up

    Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

    GMRS licenseMid-price6.1/10

    Midland's best-known GMRS pair. It needs an FCC license, and Midland is unusually honest about what it does: its own FAQ says expect half a mile to two miles in normal conditions.

    $89.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

  • Cobra ACXT1035R FLT (2-pack)

    The Cobra nobody else matches

    Cobra ACXT1035R FLT (2-pack)

    Check licenseMid-price6.7/10

    IP67 and it floats, with water-clearing BURP and Rewind-Say-Again replay. Cobra's own documents disagree on whether it needs a license, so read the manual before you transmit.

    $129.95Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Cobra ACXT1035R FLT (2-pack)

Several tents pitched on a grassy mountain campsite among pine trees
Illustrative stock photo. It doesn't show a specific product on this page.

Two very different catalogs

Both brands have been selling radios in the US for decades, and both are genuinely good at something — but they are not the same kind of company any more. Cobra's heart is CB radio and vehicle electronics; its consumer walkie-talkie range is a tidy set of FRS bubble-pack pairs with a floating model at the top and a small GMRS line called TrailBlazer above that (cobra.com two-way radios). If CB is what you actually want from Cobra, that is a different page: best CB radios.

Midland's catalog is built as a ladder. X-Talker FRS pairs at the bottom, GXT GMRS handhelds in the middle, MicroMobile vehicle radios above that, then antennas, headsets and mounts for all of them. Midland also publishes a plain-English explainer of which service is which (Midland: FRS and GMRS 101), which tells you something about who it expects to be reading.

That difference in shape is the whole comparison. If your radio needs will never change, the brands are close. If they might, one of them has somewhere for you to go.

Who tells you the truth about specs

Both brands print enormous mileage claims on the box: "up to 38 miles" on the Midland T71VP3 and the Cobra RX680, "up to 37 miles" on the ACXT1035R FLT, "up to 36 miles" on the GXT1000VP4. All of those are ideal-conditions figures and none of them describes a day in the woods. Our range claims explained page shows how the numbers are produced.

Where the brands separate is what they publish underneath the claim:

  • Cobra states wattage. The RX680 manual gives a selectable 0.5 or 2 W, and the ACXT1035R FLT camo manual lists 0.5, 1 or 2 W. Midland gives you "Hi/Lo" on the T71VP3 and "high / medium / low" on the GXT1000VP4 without a number anywhere.
  • Midland states real-world range. Midland's GXT1000VP4 page says plainly that "the GXT averages 1/2-2 miles in normal conditions" ( GXT1000VP4 product page). Cobra publishes no comparable figure on any of these radios.
  • Both publish runtime, both in their own flattering way. Cobra's 18 hours for the RX680 is a 90/5/5 duty cycle (mostly standby). Midland's is the blunter one: "around 5 hours at 90-5-5 when being used on Hi power" for the T71VP3 (T71VP3 product page).

Neither brand is hiding anything disqualifying. But if you are the kind of buyer who wants to know the watts, Cobra answers you, and if you want to know the miles, Midland answers you.

The published specs side by side

Published specMidland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)Cobra RX680 (2-pack)Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)Cobra ACXT1035R FLT (2-pack)
ServiceFRS; Midland calls it a "license-free solution"FRS; Cobra's answer on the product page: "No license is required"GMRS; FCC license required (Midland FAQ and spec sheet)Check the manual: the product page says nothing about licensing, while the 2018 camo-edition manual on the same page prints "IMPORTANT NOTICE: FCC LICENSE REQUIRED" and refers to GMRS mode
PowerHi/Lo power settings (wattage not stated)Selectable 0.5 or 2 WHigh / medium / low (Midland does not state the wattage)Selectable 0.5, 1 or 2 W (camo-edition manual)
Channels36 channels as listed (the spec sheet counts 14 of them as extra channels) and 121 privacy codes22 standard FRS channels plus 38 pre-programmed channel/privacy code combinations (60 listed); 121 privacy codes50 channels (22 GMRS + 28 Midland preset privacy-code channels) and 142 privacy codes22 channels and 121 privacy codes; stores and scans up to 10 channel/code combinations
IP rating—IP54 (Cobra: can be used in wet conditions but should not be fully submerged)—IP67 (1 m for 30 minutes) and floats
BatteryTwo 1000 mAh rechargeable packs (included) or 3 AA batteries; desktop charger, AC wall adapter and Micro-USB cable in the boxRechargeable Li-ion packs, charging dock and Micro-USB cable; up to 18 hours at 90% standby / 5% talk / 5% listen (advertised)Rechargeable NiMH packs (included) or 4 AA alkaline batteries; desktop charger; 12-hour recharge (24 hours the first time)—
Advertised range"Up to 38 miles" (advertised)"Up to 38-mile range" (advertised)"Up to 36 miles" ("Maximum range can only be achieved over water or open rural areas under optimum conditions") (advertised)"Up to 37-mile range" (advertised)
Budget tierMid-priceMid-priceMid-priceMid-price
Score5.7/106.3/106.1/106.7/10
Published specifications only, each linked to the maker page or manual it came from. The empty cells are as informative as the full ones: a dash means that maker does not publish the figure.

Water: Cobra's one clear win

If the radio is going in a boat, Cobra wins and it is not close. The ACXT1035R FLT is rated IP67 — submersion to one meter for 30 minutes — and it floats, with a BURP function that clears water out of the speaker and a Rewind-Say-Again feature that replays the call you missed under the outboard noise (ACXT1035R FLT product page).

Midland's handhelds do not go there. The T71VP3 is described only as "water resistant" with no IP rating at all, and the GXT1000VP4 is JIS4 — splashes and light rain — a rating Midland notes is not met once you plug an accessory into the jack. For paddling, fishing or anything that involves a gunwale, see best waterproof walkie-talkies.

License clarity

On the clear cases both brands are fine: the Cobra RX680 page answers the question directly ("No license is required"), and Midland's GXT1000VP4 says GMRS and license plainly. If the license question is what is holding you up, start at GMRS vs FRS.

Can you actually buy it?

This is the unglamorous part of a brand comparison and it has decided the picks on this site more than once. On 2026-10-12 we read Cobra's own product pages and found:

  • RX680: "Not enough in stock" with a "Notify Me When Available" button (RX680 page).
  • ACXT645: the same (ACXT645 page).
  • ACXT1035R FLT: the Dark Blue & Orange 2-pack adds to cart; the camo, TrueTimber and single-radio variants are all on "Notify Me When Available."
  • TrailBlazer 250 (Cobra's entry GMRS radio): "Not enough in stock" ( TrailBlazer 250 page).

The Amazon listings for the Cobra radios on this page did resolve live, with current prices, through this site's own price pipeline on the same day — which is why they are still featured here. But a maker store that cannot ship you the radio is also the store that sells the spare battery, the charging dock and the warranty replacement, and that is worth knowing before you commit a family to a brand. Every Midland model on this page was in stock on midlandusa.com and on Amazon when we checked.

Accessories and the upgrade path

Midland's advantage compounds here. The brand sells its own dual-pin earpieces and shoulder mics that fit almost the whole handheld range, plus NMO antennas and mounts for its vehicle radios — see earpieces and headsets for which plug goes with what. When a Midland family outgrows FRS, the next purchase is a GMRS handheld or a MicroMobile in the truck, and the accessories carry over.

Cobra's accessory range for walkie-talkies is thinner, and its GMRS ladder — the TrailBlazer line, which publishes 2.5 W, 8 repeater channels and a removable antenna, and which Cobra itself says needs an FCC license — is the part of the catalog we could not buy on the day we checked. On paper the TrailBlazer 250 is an interesting radio. We are not going to recommend a radio with a "Notify Me" button where the price should be.

Who should buy which

  • Family camping, neighborhood, theme parks: either, honestly. Midland T71VP3 if you want AA fallback; Cobra RX680 if you want stated wattage, presets and the longer standby figure.
  • Boating, kayaking, fishing: Cobra ACXT1035R FLT, with the license caveat above.
  • Hunting, a lease, a ranch, anything over a ridge: Midland, because the answer is GMRS and Midland has it in stock. See best hunting radios.
  • Emergency kit: Midland T71VP3 or the GXT1000VP4, both of which run on store-bought AA batteries. The RX680 depends on its own Li-ion packs.
  • A truck, a convoy, a repeater: Midland. Cobra's repeater-capable radios exist but we could not buy one.

Comparing more than two brands? Midland vs Motorola covers the other big name, and the Motorola lineup page sorts out the Talkabouts. If the budget is the real constraint, walkie-talkies under $50 is the honest floor.

In detail

The contenders, in full

Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

Midland's license-free pick

Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

No licenseMid-priceResearched5.7/10

The top X-Talker: 1000 mAh packs plus a 3 AA fallback, Weather Scan, eVOX and a headphone jack. Midland's own runtime figure is about 5 hours on high power.

How the 5.7 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
4
Power & battery (15%)
6
Field features (10%)
7
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • AA fallback plus 1000 mAh packs and a full charging kit
  • Weather Scan, silent mode and hands-free eVOX
  • Works with any other FRS or GMRS radio on the shared FRS channels

Where it falls short

  • Midland's own runtime figure is about 5 hours on high power
  • Only "water resistant"; no IP rating
  • Transmit power isn't published, and FRS rules still cap what it can do

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you're buying it for the "38 miles": through hills and trees it's still a fixed-antenna FRS radio, and a GMRS radio is the real step up in reach.

$89.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

Cobra RX680 (2-pack)

Cobra's license-free pick

Cobra RX680 (2-pack)

No licenseMid-priceResearched6.3/10

The Cobra that answers the spec question: 0.5 or 2 W stated outright, IP54, Li-ion packs with a stated 18 hours, and 38 preset channel-and-code combinations for finding a quiet channel.

How the 6.3 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4.5
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
6
Power & battery (15%)
6
Field features (10%)
8
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • Cobra states the power (0.5 or 2 W) and says no license is required
  • 38 preset channel/code combos make it simple to find a clear channel
  • IP54, NOAA alerts and an SOS flashlight

Where it falls short

  • No AA fallback listed; it relies on its Li-ion packs
  • Micro-USB charging

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you need to run on store-bought batteries during a long outage: it charges its own Li-ion packs, so an AA radio like the ACXT645 suits that better.

$89.95$99.95−10%View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Cobra RX680 (2-pack)

Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

The Midland step up

Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

GMRS licenseMid-priceResearched6.1/10

Midland's best-known GMRS pair. It needs an FCC license, and Midland is unusually honest about what it does: its own FAQ says expect half a mile to two miles in normal conditions.

How the 6.1 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
5
Ease of use (20%)
7
Toughness & weather (15%)
5
Power & battery (15%)
7
Field features (10%)
7
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • Midland publishes a realistic figure (1/2 to 2 miles in normal conditions), so you know what the pair will really do
  • Runs on the included NiMH packs or 4 AA batteries, so a dead pack doesn't end the day
  • NOAA weather alerts, SOS siren and e-VOX hands-free are built in

Where it falls short

  • No repeater channels, and Midland doesn't state the transmit power
  • JIS4 is splash protection only, and it's lost when a headset is plugged in
  • Slow desktop charging (12 hours) with no USB port

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you need to reach across a ridge or hit a local repeater: there are no repeater channels, and Midland itself says to expect 1/2 to 2 miles in normal conditions.

$89.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

Cobra ACXT1035R FLT (2-pack)

The Cobra nobody else matches

Cobra ACXT1035R FLT (2-pack)

IP67 and it floats, with water-clearing BURP and Rewind-Say-Again replay. Cobra's own documents disagree on whether it needs a license, so read the manual before you transmit.

How the 6.7 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
9
Power & battery (15%)
7
Field features (10%)
9
Value (10%)
6

What the specs support

  • IP67 and it floats, with a feature to clear water from the speaker
  • Rewind-Say-Again replays missed messages
  • Runs on AA-size NiMH cells

Where it falls short

  • Cobra's documents disagree on whether a license is required
  • The camo pattern RealTree Max-5 is sold out; Cobra says that pattern won't return

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you want a radio whose license status is settled on paper: Cobra's page is silent and an older manual says a license is required, so a clearly labeled FRS radio avoids the question.

$129.95View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Cobra ACXT1035R FLT (2-pack)

How we scored this

Every pick here is backed by the paperwork

Every pick is labeled Researched: we read each maker's published specs, manuals and range tables, check the license rules against the FCC, and score every radio on a public rubric out of 10. Every figure links to where it came from, and every range number is labeled “advertised” so you can see the difference between the box and the terrain.

Scores are our editorial judgment on that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

What changed

  • Published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Is Midland or Cobra better for walkie-talkies?
Midland, for most buyers — a deeper accessory range, a GMRS lineup to grow into, published real-world range figures and models that are in stock. Cobra wins two specific arguments: it states transmit wattage where Midland does not, and the ACXT1035R FLT is IP67 and floats, which no Midland handheld does.
Do Midland and Cobra radios work together?
Yes. Both brands use the same 22 FRS/GMRS channels, so a Midland X-Talker and a Cobra RX680 will talk as long as the channel number and the privacy code match. Brand-specific "preset" channel numbers do not transfer, so agree on a plain channel number instead — see our walkie-talkie channels guide.
Does a Cobra walkie-talkie need a license?
It depends on the model. Cobra's RX680 page states "No license is required" — it is FRS. The TrailBlazer GMRS radios need an individual FCC license, and Cobra says so. The ACXT1035R FLT is the awkward one: the product page is silent and an older manual on that page says a license is required, so read the manual in your box.
Which brand reaches farther, Midland or Cobra?
On FRS, neither — both are capped at 2 W with a fixed antenna by federal rule (47 CFR 95.567), so expect roughly half a mile to two miles in real terrain. Reach only changes when you move up to GMRS, and Midland's GMRS lineup is both broader and, on the day we checked, actually purchasable.
Is Cobra still making walkie-talkies?
Yes — cobra.com lists FRS pairs, the floating ACXT1035R FLT, the TrailBlazer GMRS line and business radios. Stock is the issue rather than the catalog: on 2026-10-12 several models, including the RX680, the ACXT645 and the TrailBlazer 250, showed "Not enough in stock" on Cobra's own pages.

Receipts

Sources

  1. Cobra: two-way radio collection page (checked 2026-10-12)
  2. Cobra: RX680 product page, specs and license Q&A; stock status (checked 2026-10-12)
  3. Cobra: ACXT645 product page and stock status (checked 2026-10-12)
  4. Cobra: ACXT1035R FLT product page, variants and stock status (checked 2026-10-12)
  5. Cobra: TrailBlazer 250 product page, GMRS, 2.5 W, 8 repeater channels, removable antenna, FCC license, stock status (checked 2026-10-12)
  6. Midland: X-Talker T71VP3 product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  7. Midland: GXT1000VP4 product page, including the 1/2-2 mile figure (checked 2026-09-22)
  8. Midland: FRS and GMRS 101 support article (checked 2026-09-22)
  9. FCC: Family Radio Service (FRS) page (checked 2026-10-12)
  10. 47 CFR 95.567, FRS transmitter power limits per channel (via Cornell LII, checked 2026-10-12)
  11. 47 CFR 95.587, FRS non-removable antenna requirement (via Cornell LII, checked 2026-10-12)
  12. 47 CFR 95.1705, GMRS eligibility (via Cornell LII, checked 2026-10-12)

Specs and range figures come from each maker's own pages and manuals, linked on every product, and license, power and channel rules come from the FCC and 47 CFR Part 95. Range numbers are the maker's advertised claims and are labeled that way, so you can tell the box number from the terrain number. Prices come live from Amazon with the time we checked. Read the full method.

Keep going

  • Walkie-Talkies

    Best Midland Radios

    Midland's walkie-talkie lineup sorted by job: the GXT1000VP4 family pair, the license-free T71VP3, the IP67 GXT67 PRO, the repeater-capable GXT3000VP4 and the budget T51VP3.

    By Mike M. · Updated October 2026

    Top pick: Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack) · 5 ranked

    $89.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

  • Walkie-Talkies

    Midland vs Motorola

    Motorola's Talkabout line is all license-free FRS; Midland sells FRS and GMRS. What that means for reach, how the two brands talk to each other, and which to buy for your group.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Motorola Talkabout T802 (2-pack)

    $109.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Motorola Talkabout T802 (2-pack)

  • Walkie-Talkies

    Best Motorola Radios

    The Motorola Talkabout lineup sorted by job: the app-connected T802, the floating T605 H2O, the AA-backup T470 and the kid-simple T110, plus the earbud to add and the gap in Motorola's consumer range.

    By Mike M. · Updated October 2026

    Top pick: Motorola Talkabout T802 (2-pack) · 5 ranked

    $109.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Motorola Talkabout T802 (2-pack)

  • Walkie-Talkies

    Best Waterproof Walkie-Talkies

    Waterproof walkie-talkies ranked on the water rating each maker publishes, from IP67 submersible GMRS radios to the license-free Motorola that floats face up.

    By Mike M. · Updated October 2026

    Top pick: Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (single radio) · 6 ranked

    $195.00Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (single radio)

  • GMRS & FRS

    Best GMRS Handheld Radios

    Seven GMRS handhelds ranked for licensed users on repeater access, removable antennas and programming, with the 5 W question answered from the FCC rule.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: Wouxun KG-935G Plus (single radio) · 7 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Wouxun KG-935G Plus (single radio)

  • Road Trips & Overlanding

    Best CB Radios

    CB radios ranked for 2026: a classic full-size AM/FM, a wireless two-piece for a clean dash, a weather-alert model with SWR diagnostics, a sideband radio for distance and a portable that needs no install.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: Cobra 29 LTD Classic AM/FM CB · 6 ranked

    $149.95Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Cobra 29 LTD Classic AM/FM CB

More in Walkie-Talkies