Skip to content
Radio & Range

Kids, Camp & Family / Ranked picks

The Best Walkie-Talkies for a Neighborhood Watch

A block group is the one case where the cheaper, license-free radios are also the legally correct ones. Here is why, and which radios to put in every house on the street.

By Mike M.Updated How we rank

#adAs an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never set a score or pick a winner. How we rank · Disclosure

Not legal advice. This page summarizes FCC rules (47 CFR Part 95) from the official sources linked in the text. Rules and fees checked . The FCC sets its fees annually and can change its rules, so confirm the current version on fcc.gov before you rely on it.

Quick picks

The picks at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Motorola Talkabout T470 (2-pack)
Motorola Talkabout T470 (2-pack)

NOAA weather alerts, an emergency button, a flashlight and a stated 28 hours on three AA batteries. License-free, so every household on the street can legally use one.

Best neighborhood watch radioNo licenseMid-price6.1/10Researched$89.99Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

2
Baofeng BF-88ST Pro FRS (multi-pack)
Baofeng BF-88ST Pro FRS (multi-pack)

Sold in twos, threes or fours with a headset per radio, and Baofeng publishes a clear 2 W plus 12 NOAA channels. The cheapest honest way to hand out a lot of radios.

Best for equipping a whole blockNo licenseBudget6.1/10Researched$41.99Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

3
Retevis RT22 (2-pack)
Retevis RT22 (2-pack)

Screenless, pre-paired out of the box and 4 oz, with Retevis' own honest 0.5 to 2 miles. Nothing to misconfigure, which is the point when a radio gets used twice a year.

Best for handing to a volunteerNo licenseBudget5.5/10Researched$29.98Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

4
Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)
Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)

IP67, floats face up on the included pack, and the flashlight turns itself on in water. The radio for a street that floods or a watch that works in weather.

Best for storm and flood watchNo licenseMid-price6.8/10Researched$116.99Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

5
Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)
Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

Weather Scan, silent operation and eVOX, with 1000 mAh packs or three AA cells. Midland's own runtime figure is about 5 hours on high power, so carry the AAs.

Best with Weather Scan and AA backupNo licenseMid-price5.7/10Researched$89.99Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

6
Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)
Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

A GMRS pair with NOAA alerts and an AA fallback. Read the licensing callout first: a GMRS license covers your family, not the neighbors.

Best if one household runs the netGMRS licenseMid-price6.1/10Researched$89.99Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked November 2, 2026. Scores are ours, built from published specs, manuals and FCC rules. Photos come from each product's Amazon listing; a radio we can't show a real photo of is left blank rather than illustrated. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Dark storm clouds building over open country
Illustrative stock photo. It doesn't show a specific product on this page.

A neighborhood watch, a storm phone tree, an HOA event crew and a block that loses cell service in every outage all want the same thing: a handful of radios, in a handful of houses, that work when nobody has planned anything. It is a genuinely good use for walkie-talkies — and it is the one buying decision on this site where the cheap license-free radios are not the compromise answer. They are the correct answer, for a legal reason most roundups skip entirely.

Everything here is chosen and scored from published specs, manuals and the FCC rules; this site does not test radios, and the method is on how we rank.

Start with the licensing rule, not the radio

GMRS radios are more capable: more power, repeater channels, sometimes a removable antenna. For a family on a farm, that is the right buy. For a street, it falls apart, and here is the exact sentence that decides it.

So a GMRS watch group means every participating household buying its own license. FRS, by contrast, is licensed by rule: no application, no fee, no call sign, anybody in any house can pick up the radio and talk (FCC: Family Radio Service). The trade is power — FRS is capped at 2 W on the main channels and 0.5 W on channels 8 to 14 (47 CFR 95.567) — and a permanently attached antenna. Across a few blocks, that is usually enough. GMRS vs FRS has the full comparison.

There is one more rule worth knowing before you plan a "watch channel": FRS is a two-way service. One-way transmissions are prohibited except for emergency messages, traveler assistance, and voice pages or brief equipment tests (47 CFR 95.531(b), 47 CFR 95.533). Calling a neighbor is fine; using the channel as a public-address system for the subdivision is not.

What matters on a block watch

  1. License-free operation. If a radio needs a license, it cannot be the radio you hand to a neighbor. That single constraint sets the whole list.
  2. It has to work for someone who uses it twice a year. A watch radio sits in a drawer for months. Screenless controls, channel lock and pre-paired units beat features nobody will remember.
  3. NOAA weather alerts. Most block groups mobilize for weather, not crime. A radio that can receive NOAA Weather Radio broadcasts (NWS: NOAA Weather Radio) is doing the job before anyone transmits.
  4. Batteries you can buy at the corner store. An AA fallback matters more here than anywhere else, because the day you need these is the day nothing has been charged.
  5. Enough radios, cheaply. Coverage on a street comes from having a radio in more houses, not from a better radio in one. Multi-packs beat flagships.
  6. Honest range figures. Houses, walls and parked cars are hard on UHF; published figures that admit it are worth more than a 35-mile box.

The picks in detail

1. Motorola Talkabout T470 — the one to start with

The T470 is the best all-round fit for a watch group because of what it does when nobody is talking: NOAA weather channels with alerts, an emergency button, an LED flashlight, VibraCall and iVOX/VOX hands-free, on a 2-pack rather than a single radio (T470 series page). Motorola publishes up to 12 hours on the 800 mAh NiMH pack and up to 28 hours on three AA alkalines (T470 datasheet), which is exactly the figure that matters for a radio living in a kitchen drawer. It is FRS, so no license and no call sign.

Motorola is also unusually specific about range: "up to 35 miles" is mountain-to-valley, with up to 6 miles over open water and up to 2 miles in a neighborhood on the same page. That last number is the one to plan your street around.

Cons: IPX4 is splash protection only, so it handles rain but not a storm drain; charging is Micro-USB, not USB-C; and Motorola does not publish the transmit power.

2. Baofeng BF-88ST Pro — the way to equip a whole block

If the plan is "a radio in twelve houses", this is the pick, because it is sold as a 2-pack, 3-pack or 4-pack with a radio, a battery, a belt clip, a lanyard, a headset and a desktop USB charger in each slot (BF-88ST Pro page). Baofeng states a flat "2W (FRS)", which is the clearest power figure the company publishes on any of its license-free radios, plus 22 FRS channels and 12 NOAA weather channels with alert scanning, dual watch, two emergency alarm modes and a flashlight. Its advertised range is "up to 3 miles" — modest, and therefore believable.

Cons: the antenna is built into the shell, so there is no upgrade path at all; no water or dust rating is published, which is a real gap for a radio that may be used in a storm; and dual watch and the alarms are menu features on a radio with very few buttons, so most people will never find them.

3. Retevis RT22 — the one to hand a volunteer

There is a specific failure mode on a block watch: someone picks up a radio for the first time in eight months, nudges a channel knob, and spends the evening talking to nobody. The RT22 is designed around that problem — no screen, a knob and a couple of buttons, and the pair ships set to the same channel and code (Retevis RT22 page). It states 2 W, a 1000 mAh Li-ion with USB-C, VOX, an emergency alarm and 113 g, and Retevis publishes an honest "0.5 to 2 miles".

Cons: 16 channels means it cannot reach every FRS channel a neighbor's 22-channel radio might be sitting on, so the group has to standardize on a channel the RT22 has; there is no NOAA weather receiver; and the water resistance is described only as handling droplets and rain.

4. Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O — for a street that floods

If your block group exists because of hurricanes, flash flooding or ice storms, buy the waterproof one. The T605 is IP67 — Motorola describes surviving submersion to one meter for 30 minutes — it floats face up on the included NiMH pack, and its flashlight is water-activated (T600 H2O series page). It carries 11 NOAA weather channels with alerts, an emergency alert button, and runs up to 9 hours on the pack or up to 23 hours on three AAs (T605 datasheet). The pack includes a case, four NiMH cells and two earpieces.

Cons: the waterproofing buys survival rather than reach, so it is no better at distance than the T470; Motorola notes it may not float with some AA batteries; and headset use is specified for dry conditions only.

5. Midland X-Talker T71VP3 — weather scan and AA backup

Midland's top license-free X-Talker is the alternative to the T470 if you want Weather Scan, silent operation and nine-level eVOX hands-free, with larger 1000 mAh packs and a full charging kit in the box (T71VP3 page). It runs on three AA cells when the packs are flat, and it works with any other FRS or GMRS radio on the shared FRS channels — useful when half the street already owns something.

Cons: Midland's own runtime figure is "around 5 hours at 90-5-5 when being used on Hi power", which is short; it is listed only as "water resistant" with no IP rating; and the "up to 38 miles" on the box has nothing to do with a residential street.

6. Midland GXT1000VP4 — the GMRS option, with the catch

It is on the list because one scenario is real: a single household that holds a GMRS license and wants more reach for its own family — the parents, the kids, the grandparents down the block — while the wider watch stays on FRS. The GXT1000VP4 is the best-known simple GMRS pair: 50 channels, 142 privacy codes, NOAA weather alerts with weather scan, an SOS siren, e-VOX, and NiMH packs with a 4 AA fallback (GXT1000VP4 page). Midland publishes "the GXT averages 1/2-2 miles in normal conditions", which is refreshingly plain.

Cons: the licensing problem above is the big one — the neighbors cannot legally transmit on it outside an emergency; there are no repeater channels; JIS4 is splash only and is lost with an accessory plugged in; and charging is a 12-hour desktop cradle.

The published specs side by side

Published specMotorola Talkabout T470 (2-pack)Baofeng BF-88ST Pro FRS (multi-pack)Retevis RT22 (2-pack)Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)
ServiceFRS license-free radioFRS (a PMR446 version is sold for Europe); Baofeng: "No legal issues, no frequency fee" (FCC ID 2AJGM-A88)FRS, no license requiredFRS, license-free (Motorola: TALKABOUT radios use FRS unlicensed frequencies)FRS; Midland calls it a "license-free solution"GMRS; FCC license required (Midland FAQ and spec sheet)
LicenseNo licenseNo licenseNo licenseNo licenseNo licenseGMRS license
Power—"2W (FRS)/0.5W (PMR)"2 W (spec table output 2W/1W)—Hi/Lo power settings (wattage not stated)High / medium / low (Midland does not state the wattage)
Channels22 channels and 121 privacy codes"22 FRS CH+12 NOAA Weather Band"; 50 CTCSS tones and 105 DCS codes16 channels with CTCSS/DCS codes; the pair ships set to the same channel and code22 channels and 121 privacy codes36 channels as listed (the spec sheet counts 14 of them as extra channels) and 121 privacy codes50 channels (22 GMRS + 28 Midland preset privacy-code channels) and 142 privacy codes
NOAA——————
Battery800 mAh NiMH: up to 12 hours; 3 AA alkaline: up to 28 hours; Micro-USB charger included (advertised)1200 mAh Li-ion, USB charging, about 3 hours to full and "8-12 hours of frequent use" (advertised)1000 mAh Li-ion, USB-C charging; "12 to 24 hours of standby time" (advertised)800 mAh NiMH: up to 9 hours; 3 AA alkaline: up to 23 hours; USB-C charging (advertised)Two 1000 mAh rechargeable packs (included) or 3 AA batteries; desktop charger, AC wall adapter and Micro-USB cable in the boxRechargeable NiMH packs (included) or 4 AA alkaline batteries; desktop charger; 12-hour recharge (24 hours the first time)
Advertised range"Up to 35 miles" (mountain to valley; open water up to 6 miles; neighborhood up to 2 miles) (advertised)"Up to 3 miles" (advertised)"0.5 to 2 miles" (advertised)"Up to 35 miles" (footnote: mountain to valley up to 35 miles, open water up to 6 miles, neighborhood up to 2 miles) (advertised)"Up to 38 miles" (advertised)"Up to 36 miles" ("Maximum range can only be achieved over water or open rural areas under optimum conditions") (advertised)
Score6.1/106.1/105.5/106.8/105.7/106.1/10
Published maker specifications only, each linked to its source. On a block watch the License row matters more than the Power row.

How far these actually reach on a street

Residential ground is harder on UHF than open country, and the reason is not distance — it is the houses. Signals at 462 MHz lose energy passing through walls, and the loss depends on what the wall is made of; NIST has published measurements of exactly this effect across construction materials (NIST: electromagnetic signal attenuation in construction materials). Brick, stucco over wire lath, foil-faced sheathing and a basement are all worse than drywall and siding.

The practical upshot, using the makers' own published figures rather than box numbers: expect a handheld to reach somewhere between half a mile and two miles across a built-up neighborhood, and less if either person is indoors or below grade. Motorola's own footnote says up to 2 miles in a neighborhood; Retevis says 0.5 to 2 miles; Midland says half a mile to 2 miles in normal conditions. Three makers, three similar answers — that agreement is more useful than any single claim. Our table of every maker's terrain figures collects them, and radios for concrete buildings covers the indoor case if your street has mid-rises.

How to run the net so it works on the night it matters

  1. Pick one channel and one privacy code, and write them on the radios. A label maker is the most underrated piece of watch equipment. Remember that a privacy code does not make you private — it just mutes other traffic (what privacy codes really do), and anyone with a scanner can hear you.
  2. Avoid channels 8 to 14. They are limited to 0.5 W by rule, so they reach noticeably less far — see the channel list.
  3. Set a check-in time. A two-minute radio check on the first Sunday of the month finds dead batteries, wrong channels and radios that someone's kid reprogrammed. A watch group that never tests has a drawer of props.
  4. Agree who calls 911. One person calls, so dispatch does not get six versions. Everyone else stays off the channel while they do it.
  5. Keep a written roster offline. Names, addresses and radio assignments on paper, because the scenario you bought radios for is the one where phones are down — see building a family communication plan and what actually works when the grid goes down.
  6. Sign up for the official alerts too. Radios are for talking to each other; warnings come from NOAA Weather Radio and your county's emergency alert system (Ready.gov: alerts and warnings).

What a watch radio is not

It is not a police radio, and a neighborhood watch is not law enforcement. These radios cannot transmit on public-safety frequencies, they are not encrypted, nobody at a dispatch center is listening, and anyone nearby with a cheap scanner or an identical radio can hear every word. Treat the channel as a conversation held on a front lawn: fine for "there is a car idling outside number 14, is that yours?", wrong for addresses, names, plate numbers and anything you would not shout.

If what you actually need is radios for paid staff, a patrol contractor or a venue, the rules change — a business cannot hold a GMRS license (FCC: General Mobile Radio Service), so read radios for security teams and two-way radios for business instead. And if someone has pitched you a subscription radio that works "anywhere in the country", read LTE walkie-talkies vs GMRS before you buy one for an outage.

Used for what it is — a free, instant, infrastructure-free way for a dozen households to talk to each other — a drawer full of inexpensive FRS radios is one of the better preparedness purchases a street can make. Buy the cheap ones, buy more of them, label them, and test them once a month.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 01

Motorola Talkabout T470 (2-pack)

Best neighborhood watch radio

Motorola Talkabout T470 (2-pack)

No licenseMid-priceResearched6.1/10

NOAA weather alerts, an emergency button, a flashlight and a stated 28 hours on three AA batteries. License-free, so every household on the street can legally use one.

How the 6.1 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
5
Power & battery (15%)
7
Field features (10%)
8
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • AA fallback with a stated 28 hours, which suits an emergency kit
  • NOAA alerts, flashlight and emergency button included
  • Hands-free iVOX/VOX and a standard 2.5 mm headset jack

Where it falls short

  • Micro-USB charging, not USB-C
  • IPX4 is splash protection only; don't drop it in water
  • Motorola doesn't publish the transmit power

Skip this if…

…Skip it if it will get wet often: IPX4 handles rain, not a creek crossing or a canoe, so the IP67 T605 is the Motorola to buy.

$89.99$109.99−18%View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Motorola Talkabout T470 (2-pack)

Rank 02

Baofeng BF-88ST Pro FRS (multi-pack)

Best for equipping a whole block

Baofeng BF-88ST Pro FRS (multi-pack)

Sold in twos, threes or fours with a headset per radio, and Baofeng publishes a clear 2 W plus 12 NOAA channels. The cheapest honest way to hand out a lot of radios.

How the 6.1 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
5
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
3
Power & battery (15%)
7
Field features (10%)
7
Value (10%)
8

What the specs support

  • A clear 2 W figure, where the cheaper GT-18 page contradicts itself
  • 12 NOAA weather channels with alert scanning
  • Two, three or four radios in one box, each with a headset

Where it falls short

  • Fixed antenna, so no upgrade path
  • No water or dust rating published
  • Dual watch and alarms are menu features on a radio with very few buttons

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you need more than about a mile in timber: this is a 2 W FRS radio with a sealed antenna, and no setting changes that.

$41.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Baofeng BF-88ST Pro FRS (multi-pack)

Rank 03

Retevis RT22 (2-pack)

Best for handing to a volunteer

Retevis RT22 (2-pack)

Screenless, pre-paired out of the box and 4 oz, with Retevis' own honest 0.5 to 2 miles. Nothing to misconfigure, which is the point when a radio gets used twice a year.

How the 5.5 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4.5
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
3
Power & battery (15%)
6
Field features (10%)
4
Value (10%)
8

What the specs support

  • States 2 W and a realistic 0.5 to 2 mile range
  • USB-C Li-ion and very light
  • Pre-paired out of the box; no screen to confuse anyone

Where it falls short

  • Only 16 channels, so it can't reach every FRS channel another family's radio might use
  • No weather channel, and only light water resistance

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you need NOAA alerts or will match channels with other brands' 22-channel radios: it has 16 channels and no weather receiver.

$29.98$39.99−25%View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Retevis RT22 (2-pack)

Rank 04

Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)

Best for storm and flood watch

Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)

No licenseMid-priceResearched6.8/10

IP67, floats face up on the included pack, and the flashlight turns itself on in water. The radio for a street that floods or a watch that works in weather.

How the 6.8 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
9
Power & battery (15%)
7
Field features (10%)
8
Value (10%)
8

What the specs support

  • IP67 and it floats face up, with a flashlight that switches on when it hits the water
  • Runs on the NiMH pack or three AA batteries, so a dead pack isn't the end of the day
  • The T605 pack adds a case, spare batteries and earpieces

Where it falls short

  • Motorola doesn't publish the transmit power; reach is ordinary FRS
  • It may not float with some AA batteries, per Motorola
  • Headset use is for dry conditions only

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you need to talk between boats or trucks miles apart: IP67 keeps it alive in the lake, but a fixed-antenna FRS radio won't cover that distance.

$116.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Motorola Talkabout T605 H2O (2-pack)

Rank 05

Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

Best with Weather Scan and AA backup

Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

No licenseMid-priceResearched5.7/10

Weather Scan, silent operation and eVOX, with 1000 mAh packs or three AA cells. Midland's own runtime figure is about 5 hours on high power, so carry the AAs.

How the 5.7 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
4
Ease of use (20%)
8
Toughness & weather (15%)
4
Power & battery (15%)
6
Field features (10%)
7
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • AA fallback plus 1000 mAh packs and a full charging kit
  • Weather Scan, silent mode and hands-free eVOX
  • Works with any other FRS or GMRS radio on the shared FRS channels

Where it falls short

  • Midland's own runtime figure is about 5 hours on high power
  • Only "water resistant"; no IP rating
  • Transmit power isn't published, and FRS rules still cap what it can do

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you're buying it for the "38 miles": through hills and trees it's still a fixed-antenna FRS radio, and a GMRS radio is the real step up in reach.

$89.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Midland X-Talker T71VP3 (2-pack)

Rank 06

Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

Best if one household runs the net

Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

GMRS licenseMid-priceResearched6.1/10

A GMRS pair with NOAA alerts and an AA fallback. Read the licensing callout first: a GMRS license covers your family, not the neighbors.

How the 6.1 score breaks down
Real-world reach (30%)
5
Ease of use (20%)
7
Toughness & weather (15%)
5
Power & battery (15%)
7
Field features (10%)
7
Value (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • Midland publishes a realistic figure (1/2 to 2 miles in normal conditions), so you know what the pair will really do
  • Runs on the included NiMH packs or 4 AA batteries, so a dead pack doesn't end the day
  • NOAA weather alerts, SOS siren and e-VOX hands-free are built in

Where it falls short

  • No repeater channels, and Midland doesn't state the transmit power
  • JIS4 is splash protection only, and it's lost when a headset is plugged in
  • Slow desktop charging (12 hours) with no USB port

Skip this if…

…Skip it if you need to reach across a ridge or hit a local repeater: there are no repeater channels, and Midland itself says to expect 1/2 to 2 miles in normal conditions.

$89.99View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Midland GXT1000VP4 (2-pack)

What to look for in a neighborhood watch radio

  1. FRS, not GMRS. Licensed by rule means every household can use it legally. This is the first filter, not the last.
  2. 22 standard FRS channels, so the group can standardize on one channel that every radio in every house can actually reach.
  3. NOAA weather channels with alert. Most watch groups activate for weather.
  4. An AA fallback or a long-life pack. The useful figure is the AA runtime, because that is the battery you can still buy during an outage.
  5. Controls a non-radio person cannot break. Channel lock, few buttons, or no screen at all.
  6. A multi-pack. Six cheap radios in six houses beat two good radios in one.
  7. Some weather sealing. At minimum a splash rating; IP67 if your block's emergencies involve water.

How we scored this

Every pick here is backed by the paperwork

Every pick is labeled Researched: we read each maker's published specs, manuals and range tables, check the license rules against the FCC, and score every radio on a public rubric out of 10. Every figure links to where it came from, and every range number is labeled “advertised” so you can see the difference between the box and the terrain.

Scores are our editorial judgment on that documented evidence. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

What changed

  • Published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Do we need a license for neighborhood watch radios?
Not if you buy FRS radios: FRS is licensed by rule, so anyone may use one with no application and no fee (FCC: Family Radio Service). GMRS is different and is the reason this page recommends FRS — see the next answer.
Can my neighbors use my GMRS license?
No. A GMRS license covers the licensee and their immediate family members, and 47 CFR 95.1705 lists exactly who that is — spouse, children, grandchildren, stepchildren, parents, grandparents, stepparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews and in-laws. Neighbors are not included. The rule does let a licensee allow anyone to operate the station if necessary to communicate an emergency message.
How far will a walkie-talkie reach across a neighborhood?
By the makers' own figures, roughly half a mile to two miles: Motorola publishes up to 2 miles in a neighborhood, Retevis 0.5 to 2 miles, Midland half a mile to 2 miles in normal conditions. Expect less if either person is indoors, in a basement or behind brick.
How many radios does a block watch need?
One per participating household, which is why multi-packs win here. Coverage across a street comes from having more radios in more houses rather than one better radio — see our multi-pack picks for bulk options.
Can we use the watch channel to make announcements?
Not as a broadcast. FRS prohibits one-way transmissions other than emergency messages, traveler assistance and voice pages or brief equipment tests (47 CFR 95.531(b), 47 CFR 95.533). Calling a neighbor and having a conversation is exactly what the service is for.
Are these radios private?
No. "Privacy codes" only mute traffic you do not want to hear; they do not encrypt anything, and any identical radio or scanner nearby can listen. Keep addresses, names and plate numbers off the air — privacy codes explained.

Receipts

Sources

  1. 47 CFR 95.1705, GMRS licensee and the enumerated immediate family members (via Cornell LII, checked 2026-10-19)
  2. 47 CFR 95.531, permissible FRS uses including one-way communications (via Cornell LII, checked 2026-10-19)
  3. 47 CFR 95.533, prohibited FRS uses (via Cornell LII, checked 2026-10-19)
  4. 47 CFR 95.567, FRS transmit power limits (via Cornell LII, checked 2026-10-19)
  5. FCC: Family Radio Service (FRS) page (checked 2026-10-19)
  6. FCC: General Mobile Radio Service (GMRS) page (checked 2026-10-19)
  7. Motorola Solutions: TALKABOUT T470 series page (checked 2026-09-22)
  8. Motorola Solutions: T470 datasheet PDF, battery runtimes (checked 2026-09-22)
  9. Motorola Solutions: TALKABOUT T600 H2O series page (checked 2026-09-22)
  10. Motorola Solutions: T605 H2O datasheet PDF (checked 2026-09-22)
  11. Baofeng: BF-88ST Pro product page, 2 W FRS and 12 NOAA channels (checked 2026-09-29)
  12. Retevis: RT22 product page, 2 W and 0.5-2 miles (checked 2026-09-22)
  13. Midland: T71VP3 X-Talker product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  14. Midland: GXT1000VP4 product page (checked 2026-09-22)
  15. NIST: electromagnetic signal attenuation in construction materials (checked 2026-10-19)
  16. National Weather Service: NOAA Weather Radio All Hazards (checked 2026-10-19)
  17. Ready.gov: alerts and warnings (checked 2026-10-19)

Specs and range figures come from each maker's own pages and manuals, linked on every product, and license, power and channel rules come from the FCC and 47 CFR Part 95. Range numbers are the maker's advertised claims and are labeled that way, so you can tell the box number from the terrain number. Prices come live from Amazon with the time we checked. Read the full method.

Keep going

  • Kids, Camp & Family

    Family Emergency Radio Plan

    A printable family radio plan for storms and outages: main and backup channels, meeting points, check-in times, NOAA alerts and AA batteries, plus the honest answer on GMRS emergency channels.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Motorola Talkabout T470 (2-pack)

    $89.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Motorola Talkabout T470 (2-pack)

  • Kids, Camp & Family

    Best Walkie-Talkies for Emergencies

    Five two-way radios for storms and outages, ranked on NOAA weather alerts, AA battery fallback and reach, with a family radio plan built on Ready.gov's advice.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: Midland GXT3000VP4 (2-pack) · 5 ranked

    $159.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Midland GXT3000VP4 (2-pack)

  • Walkie-Talkies

    Best Multi-Packs

    Walkie-talkie packs of three and four, ranked: Baofeng's BF-88ST Pro in 2/3/4-packs, Cobra's color-coded four-pack for kids, Baofeng's GT-18 three-pack, and when two 2-packs beats all of them.

    By Mike M. · Updated October 2026

    Top pick: Baofeng BF-88ST Pro FRS (multi-pack) · 5 ranked

    $41.99Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Baofeng BF-88ST Pro FRS (multi-pack)

  • Walkie-Talkies

    LTE Radios vs GMRS

    Push-to-talk-over-cellular radios promise nationwide range for a subscription. What they actually need, where they fail, when they are the right buy, and the no-subscription radios to compare them against.

    By Mike M. · Updated October 2026

    Featured pick: Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio (single radio)

    $120.00Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 2, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio (single radio)

More in Kids, Camp & Family